Reggaemani’s best mixes in 2010

Mixes are such a great way of finding new music. Just let someone else do the hard work of finding the best tunes and then you buy them for yourself.

This year has presented lots of great mixes – ranging from old school reggae and dancehall to lovers rock and contemporary one drop.

A trusted source for many years have been BMC. This year he didn’t produce as many mixes as usual, but one did really make an impression on me and made me reevaluate Tarrus Riley.

There has also been some nice mashups and reggae remixes mixtapes. Max Tannone produced Talib Kweli and Mos Def in a reggae style. Both are wicked efforts. But my favorite this year was Yankees A Yard vol. 3 from French production duo Bost & Bim.

Below are my three favorite mixes this year. I’ve played these many, many times and strongly recommend you to download number three and two and buy the number one.

3. BMC – Tarrus Riley & Friends
I’ve always liked Riley junior. But at the same time I’ve thought that he’s a little too soft. This mix changed my view completely.

2. Safari Sound – Rock n’ Vibes Mixtape – Hosted by Ziggi Recado & Maikal X
Swedish Safari Sound in cooperation with Dutch label Rock n’ Vibes. Many great dubplates from singjay Ziggi Recado and singer Maikal X. But also some of the greatest tunes in 2010.

1. Bost & Bim – Yankees A Yard vol. 3
I must admit it. I’m a sucker for mash-ups and reggae remixes of hip-hop and soul. And this 40 track mixtape, only available on CD, made my summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Columns

Leave a Reply

