Crate digging in New York City

AnnexRecently got home from a few days in New York City where I had the opportunity to visit about 20 record shops in Manhattan and Brooklyn.

Prior to the trip I had done my homework. I had listed 22 stores in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens, and when in the Big Apple I stumbled on a few more, for example the beautiful In Living Stereo in Greenwich Village.

Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to visit Queens and Breakdown Records and Stray Vintage & More, so I focused on Manhattan and Brooklyn, especially East Village/Lower East Side and Williamsburg.

And what a great city for a record collector. Probably the best city I have visited when it comes to hunting records. It is heaven, especially for collectors of soul, funk, hip-hop and disco. But the reggae bins were also nicely filled in several shops.

A one

During my visit I bought no less than 30 albums and had to get myself a new bag to carry them back home. Among the best items were New Breed’s Tribulation, Teddy Brown’s Bad Man Wagon and In Crowd’s Natural Rock n’ Reggae. What struck me though when it came to reggae, was few rarities in the bins and not many 70s roots albums. Mainly 80s and 90s stuff.

Deadly DragonIf you have a few hours in New York City and nothing to do – which is often the case, I know – I suggest you head over to Deadly Dragon Sound in China Town, one of the best record stores I have ever visited, A-1 Records in East Village and Academy Record Annex in Brooklyn. It will be time well spent.

For a full list of all the record stores I visited check Reggaemani on Instagram.

Leave a comment

Filed under Columns

Leave a Reply

