Tag Archives: Necessary Mayhem

Reggaemani presents – A Curtis Lynch Special

If you’ve followed Reggaemani for some time, you’ve probably noticed that I’m a big fan of UK-based producer Curtis Lynch aka Da Grynch. To promote his music I’ve decided to drop a mix consisting only of his dark and dub oriented productions.

I came across his tunes about a year ago when he dropped Young Gunz, a wicked Million Stylez and Joey Fever combination over a revitalized 80’s riddim.

From then and onwards, I’ve kept a close eye on his labels Necessary Mayhem and Maroon, the former dedicated to dancehall productions and the latter to more roots sounding stuff.

Curtis Lynch has done lots of great relicks, for example Joker Smoker and the mighty Police in Helicopter. Earlier this year he put out his first own riddim titled Jam 1, and about a month ago Jam 4 – also an own riddim – hit the streets. Both are included in the new mix. But I’ve not included the original version of Jam 1. Instead I’ve used a lethal remix that has an even heavier bass line.

An interesting thing about the productions from Curtis Lynch is that most artists he’s voicing are from Europe. Jamaican singers included on A Curtis Lynch Special are Busy Signal, Gregory Isaacs and Etana. All others are living in Europe.

This mix is done after the same recipe as my previous – a continuous mix with no full tracks and some added sound effects.

Most tunes are available on vinyl or on mp3 and easy to find. Rumours by Ziggi Recado is not released yet though. It might be released on 7” later this year.

If you like what you hear, please support the artists and the labels and buy the tunes.

Download A Curtis Lynch Special here (right click, save as) or listen below.

Artist – song title (riddim)

1. Chyna Soulstar & Demolition Man – Lord Save My Soul (Pirates)
2. Brinsley Forde & Blackout JA – United States of Africa (Pirates)
3. Da Grynch – Pirates Dub (Pirates)
4. Ziggi Recado – Ganja Smoke (In the Air) (Joker Smoker)
5. Mr. Williamz – No Cigarette (Joker Smoker)
6. Da Grynch – Joker Smoker Instrumental (Joker Smoker)
7. Etana – August Town (Inner City Lady)
8. Gregory Isaacs & Blackout JA – Inner City Lady (Inner City Lady)
9. Da Grynch – Inner City Dub (Inner City Lady)
10. Ziggi Recado – Rumours
11. Blackout JA – Heavy Weight Chanter (Jam 4/the Wobble)
12. Da Grynch – Jam 4 Instrumental (Jam 4/the Wobble)
13. Blackout JA & Chantelle Ernandez – We Are Strong (Shaolin Temple)
14. Jah Mirikle – Mystic Control (Shaolin Temple)
15. Da Grynch – Ugly Dub (Shaolin Temple)
16. Maikal X – Get Away (Police in Helicopter Reactivated)
17. Mr. Williamz – Sound Murderer (Police in Helicopter Reactivated)
18. Da Grynch – Police in Helicopter Dub (Police in Helicopter Reactivated)
19. Busy Signal, Etana & Netna – As Mi Forward Remix (Jam 1)
20. Million Stylez & Joey Fever – Young Gunz (Come Down)
21. Mr. Williamz – Real General (Come Down)
22. Da Grynch – Come Down Instrumental (Come Down)


Filed under Mixes

Another tough relick from the Necessary Mayhem camp

UK-based producer Curtis Lynch has not been slacking around this past month. A few weeks ago he dropped the tough Jam 4/the Wobble riddim with a wicked cut from rock stone voice Blackout JA.

Now Curtis Lynch drops another huge riddim on Necessary Mayhem subsidiary Maroon Records. The new riddim is called Shaolin Temple, and is based on – yes, you guessed right – Barrington Levy’s tune of the same name.

There are four cuts to this relick – Blackout JA & Chantelle Ernandez, Jah Mirikle and one dub and one instrumental from Curtis Lynch.

All three are solid, but the Jah Mirikle stands out from the rest.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Curtis Lynch drops new rhythm

Producer Curtis Lynch – the mastermind behind many great relicks – unleashes the new Jam 4/The Wobble riddim. The rhythm is named after its dark intro bass, and because it was the fourth rhythm he built in Jamaica.

As usual there are some excellent pieces of modern rootsy dancehall. Legendary UK dancehall deejays Top Cat and General Levy do some heavy chatting. But the best slice is from rock stone voice Blackout JA with his Heavyweight Chanter.


Filed under News

Första albumet från Curtis Lynch

Den andra maj släpper Curtis Lynch, producenten bakom bland annat framgångsrika skivbolaget Necessary Mayhem, första fullängdaren Digital Acoustics.

Plattan bygger på material från Curtis Lynch skivbolag Necessary Mayhem, Necessary Classics och nystartade Maroon. Det utlovas också nytt material som spelats in på Jamaica i fjol.

Artistlistan ser onekligen intressant ut. Det utlovas bland annat låtar från albumaktuella  Busy Signal och Million Stylez samt veteranen Shabba Ranks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nyheter

Nytt från Da Grynch

Brittiske producenten Curtis “Da Grynch” Lynch går från klarhet till klarhet. Förra året släppte hans skivbolag Necessary Mayhem en av 2009-års bästa låtarYoung Gunz med Million Stylez & Joey Fever.

Nu är han på gång igen med nya låtar som  bådar riktigt gott för 2010. Can’t Take No More heter den senaste rytmen med sånginsatser från Aswad-sångaren BrinsleyForde samt Blackout JA, som för övrigt gjort många stabila insatser för Curtis Lynch tidigare. Rytmen är mer roots-orienterad än vanligt, och släpps på Curtis Lynch nya skivbolag Maroon.

De fyra låtarna – två vokala och två dub – finns att beställa i fysiskt format från bland annat Dub Vendor eller som mp3 via Reggae Sound Network.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nyheter

Upphottade klassiker från Necessary Mayhem

Producenten Curtis Lynch ligger bakom skivbolaget Necessary Mayhem, ett skivbolag som under 2009 gett ut några av årets bästa låtar, exempelvis Young Gunz med Million Stylez & Joey Fever samt Dubplate med YT, Million Stylez, Tenor Fly, Blackout JA & Mr. Williamz.

Ett av Curtis Lynch signum är att ta gamla klassiska riddims och ge dem en ny och modernare känsla. Han har tidigare tagit sig an Augustus ”Gussie” Clarkes Rumours och Henry ”Junjo” Lawes Police in Helicopter.

Nu är det dags igen. Och den här gången tar Curtis Lynch sig an två ytterligare riddims från Augustus Clarke – Innercity Lady med Gregory Isaacs och Worth Your Weight in Gold med Delroy Wilson.

På det nya materialet medverkar bland annat Etana med en låt på varje riddim samt Gregory Isaacs som teamar upp med Blackout JA.

Låtarna finns att köpa som 7” eller via laglig nedladdning från exempelvis Reggae Sound Network.


Filed under Nyheter