Toussaint Liberator leads the way

U.S soul turned reggae singer Toussaint Liberator dropped his debut reggae album Black Gold in 2010, a wickedly soulful set produced by the mighty Zion I Kings.

Two years later he is back with his second reggae album – the raw Where I Lead, produced by Jack Riddim courtesy of I Dwell Records in California, U.S.

The album collects ten original tunes, of which three are lethal dub versions and two are engaging combinations with Kulcha Knox and Mikey General respectively.

The sound is raw and warm and some of the very tasty influences include soul, ska, funk and blues. And if his debut album was soulful in the vein of smooth Philly soul or the distinct melodic soul of Motown, Where I Lead is more of the crude and unpolished southern soul from Stax.

He has a versatile, rich and very capable tenor voice, and sings smooth and stylish, the title track for example, but can easily switch to a gritty Wilson Pickett mood, such as the upbeat and joyous I Wanna Fly, with a chorus reminiscent of Lulu & The Luvvers 60’s UK hit Shout.

This album has been flying below the radar for me for some reason, and when I first listened to it I was completely blown away. Black Gold was a great set, but Where I Lead actually outshines the debut.

Currently available as digital download and on CD.

1 Comment

Filed under Record reviews

One response to “Toussaint Liberator leads the way

  1. Pingback: Khari Kill is born to rule | Reggaemani

Leave a comment